Travel Theme: Parks

Ailsa’s challenge for this week (http://wheresmybackpack.com/2012/06/22/travel-theme-parks/) has given me the opportunity to introduce to you one of the most beautiful places in my city – Łazienki Park.

Established in the second half of XVIII century, now located near the centre of the city, the park used to be the summer residence of the last king of Poland. Apart from picturesque ponds and numerous old trees, you can find there some historical buildings including the king’s palace located on a small island and the open air theater.

What I like the most about this place is the great number of  animals living there freely and undisturbed. There are ducks, swans, tits, woodpeckers, even peacocks and of course those friendly squirrels you can see on many of my pictures that you can observe from a very short distance. There were also foxes and deer reported to be seen, but I have no idea how they managed to get there…

Although on weekends the park is crowded with people it is still one of the best places in Warsaw to get some fresh air and relax. It’s also a must-see for all the tourists coming to my town. Highly recommended also by yours truly.

mg

P.S. I’ve gathered a collection of  photos taken by my Wife and me in Łazienki Park in a separate gallery. You can take a look HERE.

Lazienki Park (15)

5 thoughts on “Travel Theme: Parks

  1. That looks really beautiful. My favourite parks are the Luxembourg Gardens in Paris, and Vancouver’s own Stanley Park (400 hectares of forest right next to downtown).

    Like

  2. How wonderful to have such an expansive park right located so centrally. I can’t think of a better place to escape the city. I checked out your other photos in the park, and was delighted to see red squirrels galore, how fantastic. It’s getting harder and harder to see them in countries where grey and black squirrels have established a presence.

    Like

What do you think?

